Unique Student Identifier (USI) Mandatory from 1 January 2015

From 1 January 2015, all students undertaking Nationally Recognised training in Australia will need to have a Unique Student Identifier (USI). Once you have your USI, you can use it throughout your life, to keep a centralised online record of all your Nationally Recognised training. Whether you're studying at TAFE, a private training organisation, completing a certificate or diploma course, apprenticeship or skill set - you'll need a USI.


Staff with Nationally Recognised qualifications in WHS are able to demonstrate their organisation’s commitment to creating a safe workplace. This qualification provides an overview of the essential WHS content and skills and is considered the minimum requirement to be a Safety Advisor.

Who will benefit

Supervisors, team leaders, aspiring Safety Advisors and other staff wanting an overview of the essential knowledge and expertise required to support a safe workplace environment.

Key topics

  • Overview of the relevant OSH/WHS legislations
  • Understanding risk
  • Emergency management
  • WHS systems, processes and practices
  • Workplace consultation
  • Duty of care.

What is required to gain the qualification

Attendance on the training program/s and successful completion of the assessment requirements. Assessment consists of set workplace tasks/assignments for each of the clustered units. Underpinning knowledge questions and third-party reports will also supplement the assessment approach.

Participants have up to 2 years to complete the training and assessment requirements of the qualification. This time frame will vary for each individual depending on their existing level of skills and knowledge and their ability to attend the training programs.

AIM WA recommends regular attendance on the monthly Free Qualification Support Workshops while completing the assessment requirements.

Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) is available for all or part of this qualification.  Please refer to the Enrolment Kit for details or the document located under Related Information on the RPL process.

Plan your training

  1. Download the Enrolment Kit located on this page under Related Information
  2. Read through the kit to learn more about the qualification and its requirements
  3. Complete the self-assessment and LLN questionnaires
  4. Email the questionnaires along with the application form (and RPL application if applicable) to enrol onto the qualification to assessments@aimwa.com
  5. Book onto the associated training program/s listed in the table below
  6. Attend training and complete the assessment requirements.

More information on each program can be found by clicking on the program in the table below. Bookings can be made on-line or by contacting Client Services at aimwa@aimwa.com.



7 days, face-to-face

Non Member
Professional Member
Corporate Bronze / Bronze Plus
Corporate Silver
Corporate Gold / Regional

10 units of competency

Non Member
Corporate/Professional Member

Assessment through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)

Non Member
Corporate/Professional Member

Related Information


Book on your choice of dates in the 4 programs listed in the table. Programs can be attended in any order (click on selected program name to view program outline and dates).

Program Name Relationship to Competency Standards Duration
WHS for Managers, Supervisors and Team Leaders (344)
19 Nov 1813 May 1904 Nov 19
4 days
Risk Management (112)
15 Apr 1926 Aug 1901 Nov 19
1 day
Workplace Leadership (605)
12 Nov 1823 Jan 1901 Mar 1931 Jul 1920 Sep 1901 Nov 19

BSBMGT401 Show leadership in the workplace

1 day
Manage Projects (612)
14 Dec 1825 Feb 1920 May 1916 Sep 1902 Dec 19

BSBPMG522 Undertake project work

1 day
Make an Enquiry