Unique Student Identifier (USI) Mandatory from 1 January 2015

From 1 January 2015, all students undertaking Nationally Recognised training in Australia will need to have a Unique Student Identifier (USI). Once you have your USI, you can use it throughout your life, to keep a centralised online record of all your Nationally Recognised training. Whether you're studying at TAFE, a private training organisation, completing a certificate or diploma course, apprenticeship or skill set - you'll need a USI.

Important Notice: This qualification is only available through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL).


The BSB51315 Diploma of Work Health and Safety is offered via a Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) option for those who have significant experience in coordinating and maintaining OHS/WHS  in their organisation and would like to have them formally recognised.

Who will benefit

OHS/WHS managers, officers and practitioners with expertise in implementing and maintaining safety systems.


Participants must hold all core units in BSB41415 Certificate IV in Work Health and Safety or equivalent competencies.

Equivalence is determined through a combination of questions, submission of a current CV and Third Party Report before attending any training programs (an additional fee of $570 for Non Member and $515 for Corporate/Professional Member will apply).

Please contact Assessment Services for details on how your current skills and work experience can be evaluated to meet the entry requirements.

Core units from BSB41415 Certificate IV in Work Health and Safety:

  • BSBWHS402 Assist with compliance with WHS laws
  • BSBWHS403 Contribute to implementing and maintaining WHS consultation and participation processes
  • BSBWHS404 Contribute to WHS hazard identification, risk assessment and risk control
  • BSBWHS405 Contribute to implementing and maintaining WHS management systems
  • BSBWHS406 Assist with responding to incidents

What is required to gain the qualification

To gain this qualification you will be required to submit evidence demonstrating your application of skills and knowledge as aligned to the 9 units of competency. Should you not be able to meet all of the competency requirements, you may be required to attend gap training.

Participants have up to 2 years to complete the RPL assessment requirements of the qualification. This time frame will vary for each individual depending on their existing level of skills and knowledge.

AIM WA recommends regular attendance on the monthly Free Qualification Support Workshops while completing the RPL assessment requirements.

 How do I get started?

  1. Download the Enrolment Kit located on this page under Related Information
  2. Read through the kit to learn more about the qualification and its requirements
  3. Complete the self-assessment and LLN questionnaires
  4. Email the questionnaires along with the Enrolment form to enrol onto the qualification to assessments@aimwa.com
  5. The RPL kit will be emailed to you once your application has been processed.

Recommended Support Programs:

We recommend the following program/s to support your Professional Development;

Click on the program name below to view program outline and dates

Typical Units of Competency

BSBWHS506 Contribute to developing, implementing and maintaining WHS management systems
BSBWHS410 Contribute to work related health and safety measures and initiatives 
BSBWHS502 Manage effective WHS consultation and participation processes 
BSBWHS503 Contribute to the systematic management of WHS risk
BSBWHS504 Manage WHS risks 
BSBWHS408 Assist with effective WHS management of contractors 
BSBWHS505 Investigate WHS incidents 
BSBWHS510 Contribute to implementing emergency procedures 
BSBWHS509 Facilitate the development and use of WHS risk management tools



Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)

Non Member
Corporate/Professional Member

Related Information

Make an Enquiry