Unique Student Identifier (USI) Mandatory from 1 January 2015

From 1 January 2015, all students undertaking Nationally Recognised training in Australia will need to have a Unique Student Identifier (USI). Once you have your USI, you can use it throughout your life, to keep a centralised online record of all your Nationally Recognised training. Whether you're studying at TAFE, a private training organisation, completing a certificate or diploma course, apprenticeship or skill set - you'll need a USI.

Important Notice: This qualification is only available through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL).


The MSS40316 Certificate IV in Competitive Systems and Practices is offered via a Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) option for those who have significant experience in sustainable business process improvements such as Six Sigma Green Belt, Lean and would like to have them formally recognised.

Who will benefit

Those who have current or past work experience where operational or technical skills have already been gained and a supervisory or similar level of responsibility exists.

What is required to gain the qualification

To gain this qualification you will be required to submit evidence demonstrating your application of skills and knowledge as aligned to the 12 units of competency. Should you not be able to meet all of the competency requirements, you may be required to attend gap training.

Participants have up to 2 years to complete the RPL assessment requirements of the qualification. This time frame will vary for each individual depending on their existing level of skills and knowledge.

AIM WA recommends regular attendance on the monthly Free Qualification Support Workshops while completing the RPL assessment requirements.

How do I get started?

  1. Download the Enrolment Kit located on this page under Related Information
  2. Read through the kit to learn more about the qualification and its requirements
  3. Complete the self-assessment and LLN questionnaires
  4. Email the questionnaires along with the Enrolment form to enrol onto the qualification to assessments@aimwa.com
  5. The RPL kit will be emailed to you once your application has been processed.

Recommended Support Programs:

We recommend the following program/s to support your Professional Development;

Click on the program name below to view program outline and dates

Typical Units of Competency

MSS403001  Review competitive systems and practices
MSS403010 Facilitate change in an organisation implementing competitive systems and practices
MSMENV472 Implement and monitor environmentally sustainable work practices
MSS403011 Facilitate implementation of competitive systems and practices
MSS403033 Map an operational process
MSS403035 Implement the visual workplace
MSMSUP390 Use structured problem-solving tools
MSS405002 Analyse and map a value stream
MSS404053 Use DMAIC techniques
MSS403044  Facilitate continuous improvement through the use of standardised procedures and practices
MSS403051  Mistake proof an operational process
MSS404052  Apply statistics to operational processes



Assessment through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)

Non Member
Corporate/Professional Member

Related Information

Make an Enquiry