Emeritus Professor Gary Martin FAIM has been elected as the new Chairman of the Telethon Speech & Hearing (TSH) Board for the next three years.

The announcement was made last night at the TSH Annual General Meeting.

Professor Martin, who is CEO and Executive Director of the Australian Institute of Management WA (AIM WA), said he was delighted to accept the position of Chair of TSH after previously being involved as a Director and Board Member.

“Telethon Speech & Hearing is a centre of excellence assisting children and adults with hearing, speech and language impairments,” Professor Martin said.

TSH offers a range of specialist paediatric audiological (hearing and ear health) services to detect and diagnose hearing impairments. It provides a high quality service - making a real difference to the lives of many families in the community.”

He said he was looking forward to working with CEO Peta Monley and her team as well as the Board, to continue to position TSH to respond to its future challenges and opportunities.

Professor Martin has expertise in strategic planning, leadership and management development, and public relations and marketing. He commenced his career as a teacher in the Western Australian government sector before moving into teacher education and later university senior management.

Prior to his appointment as CEO of AIM WA in early 2012, Professor Martin held several executive level appointments at Murdoch University in WA, including Executive Dean, Pro Vice Chancellor, Deputy Vice Chancellor and Vice Chancellor, the most recent of which was that of Senior Deputy Vice Chancellor.

He was the Chairman of Study Perth (2008-2011), was made a Fellow of the Australian College of Educators in 2015, and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management in WA.

Professor Martin paid tribute to outgoing Chairman Mr John Baillie - who was awarded Life Membership for his outstanding contribution to the governance of TSH.

“I commend Mr Baillie for his exceptional efforts with the Board and the TSH team in shaping TSH into the highly successful service organisation that it is today,” he said.

New TSH Board members include Dianne Symons, Richard Duldig and Olivier Marion, who join existing members Peter Marcakis, Andrea Burns, Prue Griffin, Bernadette Hooper, Rae Wyatt and Paul Syme to continue the good work.


For more information please contact:
Alex Quinn
Director, Marketing and Public Relations, AIM WA
T: (08) 9383 8015  M: 0431 091 118 E: aquinn@aimwa.com